Kommersant reports that Vladimir Putin has issued a decree regarding treatment of the Kremlin's archaeological heritage.
The locally unearthed artefacts, found on the site of a demolished building inside the Kremlin, will be showcased in a special exhibition. Following the show's completion, an underground museum will be constructed on the excavation site. In addition, the Spasskaya Tower will open its gates to tourists.
Building 14 of the Kremlin, formerly an administrative facility, was located between the Spassky gates and the Kremlin Senate. In 2014, President Putin made a decision to demolish the building dating from 1932, intending to build a park on the site. There was also a discussion about rebuilding the entire Chudov monastery, which was demolished in 1929, but this idea was later rejected.
The building was taken down on April 29, 2016, and archaeological excavations have been taking place since then. The fieldwork revealed sections of the foundations of Maly Nikolaevsky castle and one of the churches of the Chudov monastery.
The president issued further regulations put forward by the Archaeological Institute of the Russian Academy of Sciences, the Federal Agency for Scientific Organisations, and the head of the Department of Presidential Affairs to carry out further analysis of the foundations of the Church of Saint Catherine in the Monastery of Ascension. He also issued a recommendation that any found artefacts should be stored in the Kremlin museum.