Russian-Made Music Video Nominated for Grammy

PHOTO by A shot from the video / S7 Airlines / YouTube

An OK Go music video filmed in zero gravity has become the first music video made in Russia to be nominated for a Grammy award.

The Grammy Awards announced their nominees on Dec. 6. Amongst them, for the first time, was a video devised and shot in Russia. The video is for the American pop-group OK Go’s song “Upside Down & Inside Out,” which was produced by Volgograd’s TutkovBudkov creative agency as a commercial for S7 airlines.

VIDEO by S7 Airlines

Like all videos of the Chicago quartet, it was shot in one take, during which the camera caught an incredible number of different moves in zero gravity. The video was released in February and immediately went viral. The Gagarin Cosmonaut Training Centre in the Moscow Region provided the plane used to shoot the video.

TutkovBudkov worked on the video together with Profilm and Bob Industries, as well as S7 airlines, whose representatives helped persuade the Cosmonaut Training Centre to allow shooting.

To achieve zero gravity in terrestrial conditions, a plane has to fly on a ballistic trajectory. However, the resulting zero-gravity condition lasts less than 27 seconds. It took 21 flights in total to complete the video, each of which included 15 climbs to the point of zero gravity.


“The clip was filmed in one take that covered eight consecutive zero-gravity conditions, and all breaks were later removed during editing,” said OK Go lead singer Damian Kulash, who co-directed the video. “We shot for 27 seconds in zero gravity and then, when gravity returned, froze in our places for four to five minutes waiting for the next zero gravity situation to continue shooting,” he recalled.

The members of OK Go also said that they did not believe at first that a small creative agency in Russia would be able to shoot the clip for them.

The 59th Grammy Awards will take place on Feb. 12, 2017, in Los Angeles. The Best Music Video nomination includes, asides from OK Go, Beyonce, Leon Bridges, Jamie XX and Coldplay.